Section for Mineralogy, Petrology & Geochemistry

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Prof. Dingwell is the 2015 Peacock Medalist


Prof. D. B. Dingwell, Chair of Mineralogy and Petrology and currently Director of the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences is the 2015 Peacock Medalist of the Mineralogical Association of Canada. The Peacock (formerly Past-President´s) Medal is awarded annually to a scientist who has made outstanding contributions to the mineral sciences in Canada. There is no restriction regarding nationality or residency. The medal is intended to recognize the breadth and universality of these contributions in mineralogy, applied mineralogy, petrology, crystallography, geochemistry or the study of mineral deposits rather than in a narrow area of expertise. A committee of three Past Presidents, chaired by the immediate Past Presidents, considers all nominations received. Prof. Dingwell is the first non-resident of Canada to receive this award in 25 years. The award will be conferred in Montreal at a joint meeting of American and Canadian Geoscience Societies in May.